HUSQVARNA HU800AWD

The Husqvarna HU800AWD features All Wheel Drive which provides users with balance and power to all four wheels in hilly, uneven terrain and other tough mowing conditions. This rugged mower features a 22" heavy-duty steel deck and a powerful 190cc Honda engine. The AWD mower features a 3-in-1 cutting system allowing it to bag, mulch and side discharge, as well as a side bumper that doubles as a grass rake to pull in the grass for a clean trim. Also, it is equipped with a premium quick pin 4 point adjustment for level cutting height and a water hose connector for easy cleaning of the deck. With a premium comfort grip control bail and variable drive speed the operator is able to mow more comfortably and adjust the mowing speed according to the needs and condition of the lawn. Premium wheels with new rugged tread tires provide excellent traction without tearing the grass.

Honda, GCV190, 22 inch

from

$ 499.95

Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price*

Product reviews for HU800AWD

HUSQVARNA HU800AWD 4 5 138 138
Not happy I read a lot of customer reviews but have never written any till now. I feel I need to get my opinion out there on this one. I have a very hilly yard which has been no problem until I suffered a leg injury. Now mowing has become a chore. My old craftsman was wore out and didn't have much power. When I saw the ad for the husqvarna AWD I thought that it would be perfect. All wheel drive plus mulching. I always mulch the lawn because the garbage company does not allow us to put clippings in the trash can. Bagging requires us to take the clippings across town to the city compost. I got this mower and it started on the first pull. The honda engine is great. Starts easy and has lots of power. The AWD goes everywhere you want it to. The problem is the mulching. About every 20 feet the mower spits out a ball of un-mulched grass. When I'm done mowing there is clumps of grass all over the yard. I thought maybe I let the grass get too long before cutting. The next mowing the grass was not long at all. It had only been 4 days since the last cut. Same thing. Clumps of un-mulched grass all over. Once these clumps dried out the lawn looked awful. I came across a copy of consumer report and guess what. Poor rating because of this same problem. Don't buy this if you want to use it as a mulcher. Not sure if I can get my money back and not looking forward all the extra walking to dump the grass catcher. Plus the drive to the compost. Couldn't really afford this mower but with the injury I thought it would be great. Wrong May 16, 2013
One Awesome machine- HU800AWD I was so excited to see the great technology finally being put to great use, with the Husqvarna HU800 AWD, which was represented at last years GIE+ Expo in Kentucky. After seeing the review, I have to confess that I was more than sold. So much, that I did not mind waiting a month for my new HU800AWD mower to arrive from Amazon. So today, the UPS guy came and delivered my new "baby". I decided to put my new mower to the test, as I was not to crazy about the uneven cutting from my Craftsman 22 Inch mower, even with a new blade. In one word, "wow", is all I can say about my new lawnmower. I was skeptical about the "starting on the first pull" however, not only did my mower start on the first pull with fresh gas and oil, it repeatedly started everytime throughout my cutting the yard between 15 stops for bagging....so amazing. And yes, on the very first pull each and every time...practically effortless. And the all wheel drive control is just fantastic....the mower is neither too fast nor too slow. It was very easy to use and the cushioning grip felt very good on my hands....no more blisters ever again. The Honda GCV 190 purrs like a kitten and is not to loud. The cut, with the specially designed and included blade is just amazing...perfectly level and smooth. The included bag is great and fills up so much better than any Craftsman 22 inch mower ever has. The wheels are very easy to adjust, too. Everything is just perfect with this mower...including the great 3 year warranty. Now that I have "fallen in love" with my new mower, I will be selling my 3 year old Craftsman (with electric start) which retailed for about the same as this mower, yet pales in comparison. Who needs an electric start anyways, batteries to replace, etc, when this mower starts up on the first pull every time? You will not be disappointed with your purchase of this mower. Starting and maneuverability are very simple and hassle free. I consider this mower to be the Bugatti Veyron of Lawnmowers....their is no equal nor second best. I have done all my own yardwork for most of the 11 years I have lived in my home, and must say that this is by far the most exciting of any and all power equipment which I have ever owned. Trust me when I say that if you mow your own lawn with any other type of 20-22 inch mower, you are "missing the boat" by not having this mower. Don't just take my word for it...look at all the positive reviews, one after the other....they all speak volumes...you will wonder how you ever lived with out this great mower....definitely makes cutting the yard fun, and in about half the time too I might add. You owe it to yourself to have the best and be the envy of all your neighbors. May 14, 2013
Just one thing... I agree, for the most part, with all of the excellent reviews. There is one really BIG miss in the design that I have found after using the mower several times. I am someone who bags the cut grass. There is a HUGE flaw with the design of the discharge chute at the back where the cut grass is sent into the bag. The discharge window opening is way too SMALL, and it is also for some reason located at the bottom of the deck. So, when the grass is launched into the bag, it enters the bag at he bottom of the opening into the bag. After only 4 short passes across the yard, the bottom of the bag fills up and the opening is now BLOCKED by discharged grass!!! The mower bogs down, and grass clippings are sent out the bottom of the deck and onto the yard, leaving a trail of cut grass that defeats the purpose of bagging!!! You now have to stop cutting, let the mower shut off, remove the bag and either empty it or shake all of the grass in the bag to the back and re-attach and continue mowing. This is VERY FRUSTRATING for the way I mow my yard!!! Please re-visit the deck / bag design and fix this poorly designed issue!!! I love everything else about the mower, but this just doesn't make sense. I am sure that anyone else that bags the grass has had this issue. May 14, 2013
What a mower!!! This mower is a beast!! My previous mower wasn't making it through my backyard because I have thick grass back there. I got tired of having to mow over the same spot 2-3 times. So, when it was time for a new mower I saw this one and was very happy with the results. Mowing the lawn only took 25 mins and only had to go over it once. It was easy to assemble, easy to operate and clean up was a cinch. My only negative comment will be the price. But, you want the best you have to pay for the best. May 13, 2013
OMG!!!! I have struggled for 6 years mowing my 45 degree"hill". I regretted everytime I had to mow. I have a Husqvarna rear wheel drive push mower and it just couldn't cut it. I saw the commercial on TV and said THAT'S IT!!! I went to Lowes and picked one up (after talking my wife into it!) Easy set up, one pull start right out of the box, I hit the hill and after adjusting the deck I mowed the hill with one hand!!! I simply cannot say enough about this mower and Husqvarna in general, I have a Cub Cadet rider and can't wait to replace it with a Husq!!! THANK YOU!! May 11, 2013
Beast! This mower is a BEAST! Finally a mower that does it's job and does it well! I can not add to what the other reviewers have stated but I have been so very pleased with this mower that I wanted to reaffirm it's excellent ratings. I did not expect to find a "homeowner" model of lawn equipment worth it's cost in today's "build them cheaper" world but this is it! No need to shop any further! April 29, 2013
Former John Deere owner Was in the market for a mower as my JD mower was not meeting my needs. Saw this new product from Husqvarna and was intrigued by the AWD option. Was considering Honda mowers and higher end Toro's. Found out that this mower has the 190cc Honda mower which was a bonus. Used the mower for the first time today and was not disappointed. Mower was easy to set up. Added oil, gas, and the mower started right up. Bagger unit is large and easy to use. My yard is 4500 sq ft (so avg to small) and used less than a tank ofgas for the whole yard. The AWD feature is as advertized and works great. This is a good thing as the unit is quite heavy from the steel deck and the larger motor. Cost of the mower is at a price point that makes a person think twice about the purchase but with the high end Honda motor and the other features on this mower you will soon find out you will get more for your money with this unit than other brands I researched. I would highly recommend this product. By the way, this is the very first review I have ever written on any product. April 28, 2013
This mower exceeds ALL expectations! This mower is simply awesome! There is no compare! I’m not one to typically write a review about a product, but I feel compelled to do so in this case. In today’s age, it is very uncommon for something to live up to its marketing hype – this mower meets every claim, assertion and expectation, then completely *crushes* them! I can honestly say that this mower is worth every penny! I need to state at the outset, I am very, very hard to please/impress and rarely (very rarely) will spend money in a big-box store for tools or power equipment. All of my other tools (power equipment or otherwise) are purchased through dedicated dealers – such as all of my other outdoor power equipment is Stihl and bought at a local brick and mortar. This is also my first ever Husqvarna product. Frankly, I bought this mower with a lot of reservation as I was very leery of purchasing a product designed for and carried primarily by Big-box outlets. I really needed a new mower and wanted to go with a Honda – but was having a big problem with paying almost as much for a basic riding mower as a push, so was looking in the used market. I was in Lowes recently to pick up some light bulbs when I came across this beast. I reluctantly paid for it hoping that it would live up to the claims. Instead, it set the bar so high that no mower I know of could hope to even reach it. My yard is nothing but hill, literally 90% of it or greater is pure incline that ranges from what anyone would consider “hill” to grade so steep that a riding tractor, zero turn or normal mower (push, or typical front or rear wheel drive) simple could not handle it – in fact it would not be safe to attempt to do so. The yard is about 1.5 acres of cleared land – so pushing is no small job. This mower *owned* my property and by the end of the first mowing session, I literally RAN OUT of things I could find to throw at it to find something it couldn’t climb! Frankly, if this mower can make easy work of my yard, it can of any yard as I would say the next step from my yard is incline so steep your only real option would be to string trim it all. Anyhow, for all of the climbing power, the mower NEVER bogged and had enough power to mow through deep grass (in some cases over 8 inches tall (first mow of the spring) without hesitation, all of the time with the AWD engaged. To go over the details, my experience was the same as everyone else’s. Packaged very well. Came out of box very easily, and with a minimum of fanfare (minimal packing to remove – took longer to cut tape on box than it did to take mower out), yet all of the included items were in great shape, easy to locate and well placed. Mower came fully assembled. The setup took less than 10 minutes and I was taking my time. Tightened 2 bolts on handle, installed 2 more (no tools required) and put in oil and gas. My one, singular “nit-pick” is related to adding the oil. They provided a full 1 quart container of oil (nice as that is enough to do an oil change after first use), but the mower only takes about a half quart per fill. Unfortunately, this is stated nowhere (that I noticed) on the mower, or the oil container. It was also very difficult to find the oil capacity listed in the owner’s manual. I understand that in today’s litigious society all of the warnings and nanny statements have to be prominently displayed in the manual – but it is sad when it does so at the expense of not being able to easily locate something as important as the fluid capacities table. Anyhow, I didn’t expect it would take a full quart, hung in there with the manual and eventually found that it took a little over .5 quarts. I can see the average home owner, person with less small engine experience, or person excited to get mowing, over filling the oil by using the entire quart – which is never a good thing. Aside from this one hiccup, everything else was smooth and I completed adding the oil and gas, and mower started ON THE FIRST PULL. Amazing! No priming, pumping, choking, adjusting throttle – nothing. Pull the rope (which required minimal effort compared to any other mower I’ve ever used) and it fired right up. The controls are intuitive and easy to use. The mower pulls! One review I read online (after my purchase) suggested it pulls “like a pit-bull after a squirrel” and I would agree! It was very surprising when I first engaged the AWD! Having said that, the variable speed control works very well and was a breeze to adapt to. It probably took about 2 minutes to get the hang of. Also, FYI the 2 levers are redundant – they BOTH control the all-wheel drive, so you can use one, the other or both at the same time. (I initially assumed one was for front, one rear) Remarkably, a short time later I was mowing UP HILL with only one hand and having to walk briskly to keep up with the mower. There is not much else to say. I highly recommend this mower! I give it a 10 on a scale of 10! I am very, very impressed with it and commend Husqvarna for producing such a fine piece of equipment. I can’t find a single thing to criticize and can’t find one corner that seems to have been cut. I find myself often bitterly disappointed in how things seem to constantly be in a cycle of cheaper (related to manufacturing and quality of materials/components), less reliable and under built. I don’t get that sense at all from this mower! It really seems that Husqvarna is bucking the trend and producing something of value not just worth owning, but something to ENJOY owning because of its high quality nature. I feel the mower is reasonable priced and a great value. It is equipped with the largest displacement push lawn mower engine on the market. The Honda engines are VERY well respected and are typically found on the ultra-high end ($700+) elite class mowers. The Honda engine is super powerful, easy to start, and runs quieter than any lawn mower engine I’ve ever encountered. It offers all 3 mowing options (bag/mulch/side-discharge) and has great features like a built in mulch plug (for the rear door – nothing to lose) and included (not an option at additional cost) side discharge chute. The steel deck feels thick and sturdy and the wheel height adjust feature is the nicest I’ve come across – spring loaded pull pins with built in grease zerks for the wheel bearings. Oh, this leads me to the “tires” – it actually has them! Thy are some sort of rubbery compound that provide great traction, but have a none-loading tread pattern. Very impressive as well. FYI, this was somewhat of an impulse purchase for me. I had been considering a Honda and decided to take a chance on this mower as it came with a Honda engine at a better price point. So, I ended up reading the online reviews AFTER the purchase. Through the reviews I learned that this mower is a cutting edge, first of its kind product, and the only AWD mower on the market. This mower was announced last fall with lots of fanfare (how often does a push mower have a product launch?), it just came on the market this spring, and is presently back ordered at both large online mower dealers I checked. I can’t say enough good things about this mower and couldn’t be more impressed and pleased about my purchase. April 23, 2013
<<Previous 14 15 16 17 18 Next>>