HUSQVARNA RZ5424

For maneuverability, efficiency and convenience in a homeowner zero-turn mower package, the residential series really delivers. True zero-turn mower performance with twin, maintenance-free integrated transmissions, heavy-duty 6" wide front casters and a rugged tube steel frame. High performance Air Induction cutting decks allow side ejection or optional mulch and collection capability. Convenient control placement, foam padded steering levers and an adjustable seat make these units easy and enjoyable to operate.

Kawasaki, FR Series, 24 hp, 54 inch

from

$ 3,299.95

Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price*

Features for RZ5424 (Kawasaki)

  • Individual, hydraulic wheel-drive provides very precise maneuvering and allows the mower to rotate around its own axis, without any turning radius.

  • Kawasaki engines offer smooth, quiet, reliable power. Heavy-duty components offer long life and electric start is standard.

  • Air is drawn from the top and bottom of the deck, improving grass lift and delivering a superior cut.

  • The stamped cutting deck is reinforced with heavy flat-stock steel for added strength and durability on the leading edge and trim side. (Z254 shown)

  • Worry free performance with maintenance free, integrated zero-turn transmissions.

  • The robust frame and casters ensure durability and reduced chassis flex.

  • Removable foot pan for easy access to deck belt pulleys, spindles and clean-up.

  • Dual levers with foam-padded hand grips and viscous dampers that reduce vibration, create a comfortable operator experience.

More features

  • Feather light deck lift
  • Easy-access service points
  • Hour meter with service minder
  • Comfortable operation
  • Adjustable tracking

Product reviews for RZ5424 (Kawasaki)

HUSQVARNA RZ5424 3.1 5 29 29
RZ5424 Purchased my RZ5424 Spring of 2012, cut great, reduced my mowing time from 5-6 hours to less than 3. Was happy with my purchased. This June, '13. I noticed the cut wasn't as clean as it should be, figured the blades needed sharpening. Removed the blades and they were totally used up. The ends of the blades may have been 2 inches wide. OK, not a big deal, went to Lowe's bought a new set of HU22054 set for $49. Little expensive but OEM parts usually are. This weekend, Sept 21, '13 jump on the ZT and on the second pass notice the deck was shaking and cut wasn't clean. Stopped, looked at the blades and they are worn out again. All 3 blades have one of the wings on the end broken off and the other side is split and barely holding on. I have attached a picture, you can still see the paint on the blades! This set lasted 90 days, maybe 35 hours. Took the blades to Lowe's and got a "sorry, we only have a 30-day warranty period for replacement parts" My ZT has 79 hours on it and I'm on my 3rd set of blades. The 3rd set I just got some off-shore brand from Amazon. And for the record, my lawn is well established Fescue, I'm not bush hogging with it. To make matters worse, the seat has 2 severe cracks in it already. My 12 yr JD mower seat does not have any cracks at all. Both mowers are parked in my garage and only go out to cut grass! September 24, 2013
4 hrs and engine smoking-wheels will not turn I recently purchased the RZ5424 (Kohler engine) in July through AAFES and at great price. I have mowed 1.5 acres of only grass in my yard about 6 times and have been very impressed. However, today the engine made a noise and began billowing smoke which smelled awful, the blades were turning but I lost all wheelpower. After letting the VERY hot motor cool off I started it again and it immediately began blowing smoke with no wheel power. I have checked and re-checked everything, including the oil. Very dismayed and at a loss for words. It is essentially brand new, and now not functional. August 31, 2013
RZ5424 This is a real mowing machine ! I have 6 acres that get mowed once a week in the summer and with the RZ 5424 the task gets done quickly and looks great. The rear tires need to have a tread that is more aggressive as on uneven terrain the tires loose traction and spin easily. I gave a 4 star rating for performance because there is no way for the frame or front wheels to compensate for uneven terrain. Overall this mower truly deserves a 5 star rating. July 17, 2013
Good Idea - Poor Design I purchased this mower at Lowes thinking this would help us with our mowing. This mower is slow for a 27HP motor. I replaced 12 blades over 1 season of mowing. The components underneath busted off the deck. Plan on spending $300 to $400 per year on maintenance and 40+ hours maintaining it. I only put 90 hours on the mower and every 4.5 hours something new needed replacement or fixing. June 23, 2013
Great Mower, but something is wrong with mine! I have about 9 or 10 hours on my mower and the belt tension spring in front of the motor has broken 4 times. Every time this happens the mower sits broken in my beautiful corner lot in a half mowed lawn for a day until i get a new spring. Not very good advertisement for husqvarna! After my third spring broke i jack up the back of the mower to find a bunch of loose bolts connecting the drive motors, after i tightened them is still broke again. Other than that, it is a great mower when it is moving. My local shop i bought it from says they will warrantee the spring, but i think somthing greater may be causing the spring to break and if i do send it in I will be without a mower for a few weeks....Not cool. So, depending on the advice i get from Husqvarna will determin if I would recommend this mower or not! May 29, 2013
Love everything about this mower First off I have about 50 hours on my mower. I went to a qualified serviceing delaer (not a department store). The salesman went back and showed me which one I was getting in the crate and told me I could pick it up in the morning. The next morning it was waiting and ready to go. One of the service employees came out and went over the mower from top to bottom and discussed maintenace. I mow about 1.5 acres and this mower mows it very smoothly and very fast and the motor will not give up even in high thicker grass. One concern I did have was that upon initial start the engine would put out blue smoke for a very short time, after about 6-10 hours break-in this no longer happens. Fuel economy is decent and so is the use and maintenace of this product. I did have the problem of it wanting to go slightly left when i first got it but it has easy to use adjustment on the levers. Only true downfall is that next to the road i have a bank that i could mow on my lawn tractor. This mower struggles to stay on the bank I personally think its due to the tires. I am a mechanic instructor and i would recommend this product to anyone who has the mental and physical ability to be able to upkeep a piece of equipment such as this because without proper upkeep there isnt a mower out there that will last. May 22, 2013
excellent product I have enjoyed learning how to use my new zero turn. The machine is responsive, fast and mows evenly, leaving my yard looking beautiful. I am extremely happy with the mower and with the company i bought it from. The discharge chute is a bit flimsy, but not too expensive to replace. May 18, 2013
RZ5424 I purchased my RZ5424 from Sears about 3 years ago. The mower itself seemed sturdy, powerful, and the price was right! Well shortly after purchasing it, I had my first problem. The middle spindle broke on the mower deck.... thinking I had maybe accidently hit something, I ordered the part and had it replaced. Little did I know that this would be a common occurance. After replacing it the first time i was very careful as to my speed, what might be in my yard, etc. I live in Central Illinois so its mostly flat ground, no rocks, etc. I have now replaced the same spindle 3 times and just broke it again last week. I've checked everything, and double checked it... the deck isn't bent, the bolts have been tightened to spec. everything! and they still break! Now taking it apart this time i've noticed that the bearings are shot in ALL of the spindles. I've always kept up on greasing all of them and all grease fittings on the entire mower for that matter. The mower has excellent power, runs good, and when it does run and isn't broke, it mows extremely well! I would not recommend buying one unless you want to run into continual problems like myself or others. Once mine is fixed this time i'm considering selling it and buying something of a little higher quality! May 1, 2013
  • 2015-07-29T09:58:38.559-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_29, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_136389, prod, sort_default
<<Previous2 3 4 Next>>