HUSQVARNA 550 XP®

Husqvarna 550 XP® is developed for professional loggers and skilled land owners. The saw has a ground breaking design and is loaded with innovative solutions for efficient, convenient operation. Our unique X-Torq® engine technology provide more power where you need it, up to 20% less fuel consumption and 60% less exhaust emission. RevBoost™ provides instant high chain speed for extra efficient de-limbing.

50.1 cc, 3.75 hp, 13"-20", 10.8 lbs

View product award(s)

Awards for 550 XP®

Reddot Design Award 2013 - Best of the best

Reddot Design Award 2013 - Best of the best

The reddot design award dates back to 1955 and is now of the world's largest and most distinguished design competitions. Evaluation criteria: important special design qualities, design competence and excellent design.

from

$ 579.95

Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price*

Features for 550 XP®

  • X-Torq®

    X-Torq®

    Delivers lower fuel consumption and reduced exhaust emission levels in accordance with the world´s most stringent environmental regulations.

    Delivers lower fuel consumption and reduced exhaust emission levels in accordance with the world´s most stringent environmental regulations.

  • AutoTune

    AutoTune

    AutoTune gives optimal engine performance throughout automatic engine setting. No time spent on carburetor adjustments. It compensates for different fuels, altitude, humidity, temperature and clogged air filter.

    AutoTune gives optimal engine performance throughout automatic engine setting. No time spent on carburetor adjustments. It compensates for different fuels, altitude, humidity, temperature and clogged air filter.

  • Centrifugal air cleaning system removes larger dust and debris particles before reaching the air filter. This results in reduced air filter cleanings and improved engine life.

  • System designed to reduce vibration levels to the operator, which lessens fatigue.

  • Allows you to control oil flow depending on application and weather conditions.

  • Facilitates cleaning and replacement of the air filter.

  • Allows for easier starting and reduces the risk of engine flooding.

  • Easier access to chain tensioning device.

More features

Product reviews for 550 XP®

HUSQVARNA 550 XP® 4.4 5 34 34
lab rats r us The 550 I purchased 3/12/13 has been a big disappointment. The saw requires a pathetic warm up period and unless it is fully hot or fully cold it doesn't restart well. It commonly acts like it is running too lean on the low speed jet. This incentivizes an unsafe work environment by making the operator want to leave it idling during short term operation jobs like chipping. This saw should have been better tested before put in the field. Husqvarna needs to make this right with people clearly I'm not the only one. May 4, 2013
A good medium saw. I bought this saw for my farm work in the winter 2013, through internet services from USA. For the first couple of weeks I was very pleased with this, then it developed a issue suddenly in idling. It would run good for about five minutes or so and then quit. The ignition plug was not wet at all, spark was good. Any field-strip did not work for it. It was one week after this when I find the answer in the carburetor. I gave the cab overhaul to blow off any unknown stuff sticking in it and it came to life again. Now it works so good, so powerful again. But still I really don't understand what the reason of that problem was. Why something goes in the carburetor of a brand new saw? The Auto Tune is wonderful when bringing this up in highlands, yet I prefer an idle adjustable screw, at least if possible, rather than the Auto Tune only. One more outstanding advantage is its bar oil. Husqvarna's genuine oil is marveras. I surely recommend this with the machine. May 1, 2013
A wood eatin son of a gun As my Father in law called it.. that's a "wood eatin son of a gun".. I will mainly be using the saw for pine, but have recently been using it for some Black Locust that has setup like concrete and it has done a great job. If you dig the dogs in and lean hard on the bar, it will bog down just like any other average sized saw. If you wind the motor up, this little saw rips. On the inital start-up I had to let the saw run for a few minutes, then it blubbered out. After starting the second time and letting it idle for 5 min, the ECM mapped and it was ready to go. I live at about 2700 feet. In month I'll be heading up the hill for firewood cutting at 6500-7500 feet. I'll update my review after that for a review of how the auto-tune works up high. I also turned the bar oiler adjustment up a little bit from the factory setting.. it runs a little stingy on the bar oil. It's nice to have that option. April 25, 2013
Great little saw, but I have had a hard time keeping the saw running at idle. My dealer cleaned the carburetor and set the computer back to the original settings? It still is very hard to keep running and very hard to start. I never drop start a saw but I have to on this one. I like the saw other than that. I need help from Husqvarna to help me with this problem. I have had many 372XP Husqvarna saws and never had this problem. Why do the 550 and 562 have purge bulbs. I never needed this on the 372xp saws. I'm worried a small limb or thorn will poke a hole in it. April 5, 2013
550xp Saw runs great and is light for a 50cc pro saw. I was doubtful, but the saw handles a 20 inch bar very well. Overall great construction, but I found that very fine dust was entering the carburetor past where the air filter attaches. Saws definitely don't last long with dust entering the engine. March 25, 2013
Maybe, Maybe not First off I am a HUSQVARNA NUTTTT! I bought a 550xp a few moe months ago and was in love. I have ran 445's, 365's, and 395's for a long while, so a saw close to the weight of a 445 that would cut like a 365 was my kind of party. The 550 was the real deal at first. I sunk it into a 60 or so foot cotton wood first thing and it worked, worked, worked. My plan was to outfit my eleven line clearance crews with two 550's and a 372xp (for when things get nasty#. This hasn't happend because the 550 has layed down on me. Its a pain to start, and then is a bigger pain to keep it running. This saw is so hard to keep running i have parked it. HUSQVARNA is the only brand i buy, and will stick to that forever. But i feel like you maybe missed the mark with this saw. On a side note we need rear handled 338xp's badly. We have rules against top handles and are having to use 445's for climbing saws. They want us to switch to those plastic stihl 211's, and replace them every other day. Maybe you can help. I have #22# 445's, #4# 365's, #5# 372xp's, and #4) 395xp's and would take any of them to battle any day. Thanks. February 26, 2013
Freaking Screamer After listening to a lot of hype about this saw I went out and got one and I was pleasantly surprised at how it performed. At first it ran a little funny due to the autotune doing it's job, but only after a couple of cuts the thing just got better, I could not believe that something so light and small can have so much power. The torque was there through out the power band and all it wanted to do was eat wood. After cutting for a while I could not believe how little fuel it used, I can only imagine what it will be like after a few tanks of gas are through it. I also own a 445 and a 372xp, looks like they will be getting a little less used, except for the really big stuff. January 12, 2013
great little replacement for the 346 to start off with this is my second Autotune saw. At first it was a pain when cold. But after a while the saws ECM sorted out the fuel/spark mapping and now it runs side by side with the 562 (which is my most reliable saw. No JOKE.) This 50cc saw really really really screams and pulls a 20" loop its not there. I run the H23 from Husky, good fast chain for the saw. If you need a light light saw for blocking out those annoyingly tall loblolly's by your clients lake house, by this. First hand account: its more friendly in the tree than the 346. Just my .2's Now hurry up and ship out my 540xpt already!!! Tired of the 201's!!! December 7, 2012
<<Previous 2 3 4 5 Next>>