HUSQVARNA HU800AWD

The Husqvarna HU800AWD features All Wheel Drive which provides users with balance and power to all four wheels in hilly, uneven terrain and other tough mowing conditions. This rugged mower features a 22" heavy-duty steel deck and a powerful 190cc Honda engine. The AWD mower features a 3-in-1 cutting system allowing it to bag, mulch and side discharge, as well as a side bumper that doubles as a grass rake to pull in the grass for a clean trim. Also, it is equipped with a premium quick pin 4 point adjustment for level cutting height and a water hose connector for easy cleaning of the deck. With a premium comfort grip control bail and variable drive speed the operator is able to mow more comfortably and adjust the mowing speed according to the needs and condition of the lawn. Premium wheels with new rugged tread tires provide excellent traction without tearing the grass.

Honda, GCV190, 22 inch

from

$ 499.95

Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price*

Product reviews for HU800AWD

HUSQVARNA HU800AWD 4 5 138 138
This mower is worth the hype! After reading one or two reviews which were negative relating to ease of use and mulching quality, I was skeptical about what performance to expect. I now have no doubts and suspect the reviews may have been due to lack of experience with this particular mower. The concern about the wheels locking up when trying to pull the mower in reverse can easily be overcome by allowing the mower to coast a few inches after disengaging the drive. I like the fact that they prevent it from backing up in case the mower is stopped without intending to back up. This prevents it from rolling back on a hill. A slight push ahead will release the wheels to move backward. Also, I find that the mulching 'clumps' are a normal product of all mulching mowers that I have owned and naturally will become larger if the grass is allowed to grow too tall between mowings. For the small 'clumps', I simply disburse the few that to occur, using my leaf blower. All in all, I am so far very happy with the mower, which I have used for about 10 hours. July 1, 2013
4 wheel mower Mower will go anywhere you want it to go. Front wheels don't always disengage when you stop so that you can pull it backwards. After stopping to disengage the front wheels you must first push the mower forward a little. This was hard to learn to do. Also the drive belt makes a slipping noise when it starts out to move. June 25, 2013
High Powered Machine After using a rear wheel drive mower on a moderately hilly yard, the Husqvarna is a pleasant experience. It has way more power that I will ever require, but I'll keep it anyway. I am experiencing a learning curve with this machine due to its size and braun. It is not easily maneuverable around obstacles, so I use the trimmer a bit more. Nonetheless, I am very happy with the machine and its power. June 24, 2013
Overall superior product with a some areas for improvement This is a powerful self-propelled walking lawn mower that easily and economically cuts my 1 acre property which includes several hilly areas up to a 30 degree slope. I was impressed by the ease with which it climbed and cut these steep sections. The Honda engine pull chord starts easily every time, and the speed attainable is more than satisfactory. It sips gas too. It is very maneuverable around trees, shrubs, curved curbings, etc. and the option of driving with only one hand engaging the drive handle allows me to lift low hanging branches with the other hand and continue mowing. I have only used the side discharge setting since purchase a month ago due to continuous rains that make the lawn grass grow quickly and acreage that prevents use of rear bag collector for time reasons. Because the rain has been extensive, I have been forced to cut lawn a few times when it was wet. As indicated by the manual, this causes grass clumps to be thrown out the side discharge, even when I set the height adjustment at or near the top. I also have to cut less than the full 22" width to keep mower moving steadily. The option of waiting to cut a dry lawn may not be possible when the grass is growing well above normal cut height. BTW, Husqvarna should consider producing a 30" width AWD mower, as this would reduce cutting time on larger properties. Using the wash hose connector only makes the problem worse, since the already wet grass that is not discharged accumulates inside the circular shield above the cutting blade in the underside housing area, and needs to be manually removed by hand. I am going to stop using the wash connector until the lawn dries completely. Another quibble I have is the small diameter of the gasoline tank fill tube. Adding gas with the can dispenser hose into the tube has to be done very carefully, and slowly, since the 1/4 gallon capacity fills very quickly. A funnel will not let me see when the tank is full and will cause overflow. It is necessary to move the direction of the front of the mower slightly towards the upper part of the hill when cutting across rather than straight up and down some hilly sections, as the small wheels tend to slip sideways. It is not practical for me to cut some of the hilly sections straight up and down given the long length and shorter width of these. Finally, the 93 pound weight of the mower is noticeable when I need to pull back when maneuvering around objects, as there is no reverse self-propelled gear. Since this will happen on all lawns with impediments requiring angle cuts, users should recognize the additional effort required. Overall, however, this is a very good mower well worth the money. It also gives me a good walk workout. June 23, 2013
Hu800awd just okay I have owned husqvarna chainsaws and bush saws for over 20 years with very little problems. Always promoted the products to friends. I have to say I am disappointed in this mower. Pro's: AWD works great especially on steep grades like ditches. The dealer didn't prep it and had to adjust it so it would work at the various speeds and work on steep slopes. Honda motor can't say enough good. Gas economy is good for the amount of work this engine is doing with cutting and drive. Cons: Deck engineering. The wash feature is useless. Ended up using a hose nozzle and plastic putty knife. Still plastic holds the water after running it to dry. I mulch about an acre of grass. Seems when mulching the airflow isn't enough to pull long dandelions lying down up to the blade. Don't know if it is the blade or deck design. If I manually push it really slowly it will pull them up I used the side discharge and air flow does seem better. The rear bag area of the deck holds a lot of grass instead of being flush with the curvature of the deck. The stop start handle isn't molded to fit around the handle properly and on rough ground pinches your hand. Brought it to the dealer attention and he was to talk to rep. Never heard back. The side discharge chute doesn't stay attached as the catches are not deep/curved enough to hold it in place. Can't shorten the handle as the holes are not drilled the same size even though the handle is molded for it. You are only able to adjust the height. I have quite a few trees to cut around and the long handle is a pain. Nice to have feature: Reverse June 21, 2013
Truly a Cadillac of Lawn Mower I did a little home work on searching for a lawn mower. My previous lawn mower is done, so the search is on. I have some physical restrictions so I need to have the lawn mower to be self propelled for sure. I went to Lowe's and I saw this lawn mower that has AWD, but I never heard of Husqvarna. So I went to the internet, looked it up read the reviews. It was a little pricey, but with all the features that the HU800AWD has coupled with my health concerns. The price for comfort in taking care of my lawn with as little stress on my body as possible is worth the cost. I got it home, assembled it, put in the oil, and the gas. I pulled cord one time as the instructions stated and WOW! it started right up. Then I pulled the propel lever and BANG ! It was like "off to the races"! I was chasing it at first, until I began to understand how to control the speed of the AWD. The experience was incredible. i've never had a lawn mower of this caliber. It was definitely worth the price. i can't say enough on how pleased I am of this lawn mower. the level of cut is even and even on my uphill cutting, the cut remain level. It is a winner in my book and i'll recommend this lawn mower to anyone. It's worth the cost that it's advertised. It is one of my best investments, most definitely !!! June 20, 2013
AWD is GOOD The mower has plenty of power and starts easy. When the AWD is working properly it maked mowing easy. I like the mower and it cuts the thick grass with ease. The $500.00 price is high but the mower cuts very well. Dan M. Louisiana June 18, 2013
Great mower, But.. First of I would like to say that I don’t have any hills or slopes in my yard just very thick centipede grass. Where do I start, this is a very cool looking mower being that orange is my favorite color. I pulled the lawn mower out of the box added oil and gas, gave it one pull and it started no problem at all. Pulled the handle for the AWD and this thing nearly took off and almost got away from me. I really wasn’t expecting this mower to have that much power and speed. Changing the height was very easy, no problem there. It handles great, feels like your just taking a walk in your yard when your behind it. The mower does all the work your just there to guide it. Took a while for me to get used to corners and turning. The engine could handle just about anything, which leads me to talk about the things that I feel Husqvarna could of improve and change. When your making a turn or turning around and the self propelled is in engaged, it makes kind of a grinding noise. I don’t know if this is the belt or the transmissions and gears catching up with the peace that I’m pushing the mower. I do see this becoming a problem that I would have to repair in the future. Mulching, this mower did not do a good job at mulching. There were times where the grass would build up under the mower and the engine would bog down. I don’t know if it was just that my grass was to thick or what but it really became a problem where I had to attach the side discharge to finish the job. This mower need to have a device installed underneath into the mulching system like the Toro models have to help with mulching. Also for the price this mower should have a blade stop and a electric start. Overall this is a really great mower, but it needs a little more improvement in the areas I mention above. For the price of $500 there are much better mowers June 17, 2013
<<Previous 11 12 13 14 15 ... 18 Next>>