Husqvarna YT42XLS

We developed our LS series yard tractors with the discriminating landowner in mind. Engineered for added durability, comfort, style and precision, our LS series yard tractors all feature fabricated or reinforced decks and a heavy-duty chassis. The efficient, integrated washout port and optional mulch kit make these models ideal for demanding and extensive use. Then the available locking rear differential increases traction while cutting wet grass or on slopes.

Kohler, 24 hp, Hydrostatic, 42 inch

from

$ 2,649.95

Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price*

Features for YT42XLS

  • Features a hydrostatic transmission that produces a smooth, variable forward and reverse speed and a pedal operated locking rear differential for increased traction while cutting on slopes or wet grass.

  • Cruise control

    Cruise control

    Allows the tractor to maintain consistent speed, even in rough terrain.

    Allows the tractor to maintain consistent speed, even in rough terrain.

  • Electric Blade Engagement

    Electric Blade Engagement

    Easy engagement of cutting blade/s; simply pull the switch on the control panel.

    Easy engagement of cutting blade/s; simply pull the switch on the control panel.

  • Ensures comfortable and easy mounting and dismounting.

  • Convenient fender mounted deck lever is spring assisted for easy operation.

  • 15" high back seats are adjustable back and forth for greater comfort.

  • Comfortable steering wheel, angled for optimal driver’s position.

  • Gives clear indication on battery status, which makes it easy to see when charging is needed. The charger connection is placed next to the indicator, for extra convenient recharging of the battery.

More features

  • Cast iron front axle
  • Anti-scalp wheels
  • Visible fuel level
  • Cup holder

Product reviews for YT42XLS

Husqvarna YT42XLS 4 5 27 27
GREAT TRACTOR ! This is my first riding mower and I am very pleased with it . I'm glad I decided to pay a little extra and upgrade to this model with the fabricated deck and also like that it has multiple grease fittings to help reduce the wear on the deck spindles , steering and front wheel bearings .The Kawasaki engine has plenty of power and the 3 blade deck gives a superior cut , also the built in Ctek charge port / battery level indicator is a handy feature . The only downfall which has nothing to do with the tractor is the price of the bagger attachment for the fabricated deck which I feel is way too high but otherwise I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a tough high quality riding mower May 8, 2014
Professional Results Purchased this unit July 2013 from a local tractor dealer because I wanted a fabricated deck and the Kawasaki power plant. Did my fair share of research on JD, Cub Cadets and Craftsman. I just hit 20 hrs. on the meter so I feel I can give an honest evaluation. Do yourself a favor, pay a little more and get a lot more and skip the big box stores. I mow 3/4+ acre on a hill that killed a big box "Troy Built" toy in less than 3 seasons. The 3 blades in the deep fabricated deck do a great job and I found that the deeper the deck the better vacuum couple this with the 3 blades in the fabricated deck and it stripes my lawn like a ball park. The mower has power to spare and the heavy duty hydrostatic transmission is smooth. The XLS series sport bigger tires so inclines are a piece of cake. The hour meter and amp gage is a sweet feature and takes the guess work out when to change oil or if you need to attach the trickle charger during winter storage. Another nice feature is all the grease fitting that you can keep lubricated yourself, again extending the life of the mower. My neighbors all have the JD series and they are impressed with the finish results of my Husqvarna. In addition, their stamped decks all look worn out after just 3 -4 seasons. The service from my local dealer is over the top. Took it back with 15 hours and they hit all the grease fittings and pointed them out to me & n/c for the service. Service after the sale is really what you are after. Good luck getting that at your Big Box store retailer. In summary, it has the power plant and fabricated deck that will lead to years of service plus a better warranty, lifetime on the deck, 3 years on the motor and chassis. May 3, 2014
Descent lawn tractor I am pleased with the overall performance of my YT42XLS. It is well constructed with ample power and it runs very smooth. I rate the mowing performance of this as "a little above average" compared to other riding mowers I have owned and operated. I currently have two John Deere mowers also and I believe they mow a little better than my Husqvarna but not much better. The YT42XLS is much smoother to operate than my other mowers, but it is a little rough riding. The grass shoot drags on the ground and catches the ground when backing up, as noted in other reviews. Many companies are advertizing the hose port to wash the deck out after mowing. I don't believe these work. At least mine doesn't clean the bottom of the deck. I run the water much longer than the manual recommends and it removes some of the grass but the deck is still caked with grass when I inspect it. April 26, 2014
Disappointed in Texas I rarely write reviews like this, but in this case I have to. This has been one of the most disappointing things I have ever purchased and now I guess I am stuck with it. I will give some background. I have owned John Deere lawn tractors in the past. My most recent one started having motor problems with 800 hours on it so I decided to purchase a new lawn tractor for my 2 acres. I had always heard that Husqvarna was a good brand and we have a local dealer who can work on them, so I went shopping. I fell for the hype from the sales person about the strength of the fabricated deck and other features of the YT42XLS, so in September 2013, I made this purchase of a new machine. The tractor starts easily, drives fine, and is easy to operate. What is the problem?.....it does a lousy job of cutting grass. Within weeks of my purchase I had used it twice, both at my home and at our 5 acre church lawn. It left two strips of grass virtually unmowed in the center of the machine. I took cell phone photos of this and took the photos to the dealer where I had made the purchase. That is when the excuses started. I was told that Husqvarna was having some problems with "some" of the mowers with the fabricated decks in that the fabricated deck did not allow the proper "lift" to the grass so it could be cut evenly. I was told Husqvarna was working on a "baffle" kit which they would install free of charge to fix the problem. These baffle kits were not yet available but the dealer installed new "high lift" cutting blades to correct the cutting problem. I did note some improvement to the cutting ability, but still it would not cut correctly. Months went by and finally in February, 2014, the baffle kits arrived and over the course of a week or so this kit was installed on my tractor. In April, 2014, I used the mower for the first time this season......still leaving areas virtually uncut and I have to run over the yard twice to get the grass to look decent. I took more photos and have told my dealer I want a new machine and that I am fed up with a new machine that will not cut grass. I have waited 5 months to fill out this review to give Husqvarna time to correct this issue. Whether I can get a new machine or whether I will be stuck with this one, I do not know as yet, but this has proven to be one of the most disappointing purchases I have ever made. My beat up 7 year old John Deere tractor cut grass a lot better than does this brand new machine. I regret making the purchase and my feeling about Husqvarna has seriously declined. In the images below, the first one shows the cutting when the machine was brand new in Sept. 2013. The 2nd image shows the cutting after the "baffle kit" was installed. Still a terrible cut. April 23, 2014
first tractor Being a home owner again and having a large lawn to mow and a long driveway I needed a lawn tractor for the first time. Doing extensive research online led me to decide on this Husky. I was not disappointed. It has handled everything I needed to do with no problem. It is a great lawn tractor. March 21, 2014
Great on paper but ..... The Kawasaki engine is smooth and powerful. The fabricated deck is built like a tank. Too bad the steering isn't as good as the engine or deck. My first warranty repair involved replacing the tie rods with redesigned ones so the left front tire wouldn't grab the tie rod when turning sharp left. The second warranty repair replaced the locking transaxle with a non-locking version. This was supposed to help it turn sharper to the left but it still has a tendency to push straight ahead when turning left. A third warranty visit involved a noise that developed in the front end after about 15 minutes use. Turns out the front axles weren't adequately greased from the factory so they heated up after some use. If the rest of the machine was as good as the motor and deck I could whole-heartedly recommend it but the steering issues prevent my doing so. November 16, 2013
My wife loves this mower We have 5 acres, and we mow my mother-in-laws 3.5 acres. So when I was looking for a larger mower my wife seen this one and wanted it. We had already been using two older mowers and it still took us all day. So I got this one and the 52 inch mower. With both them going we get half a days worth of fishing done on Saturday now. We are very pleased with the quality of cut and value of both mowers. September 29, 2013
YT42XLS, new purchase New owner of riding tractors. Tractor drive belt broke first time I used it. Tractor does a nice job cutting the grass. September 19, 2013
<<Previous2 3 4 Next>>