Husqvarna 440

Lightweight and efficient all-round saw, ideal for those looking for a chainsaw that is exceptionally easy to start and manuever. Featuring X-Torq® engine for lower fuel consumption and reduced emission levels. Equipped with Smart Start®, fuel pump and Auto return stop switch for easier starting. Side mounted chain tensioner for earier chain tensioning.

40.9 cc, 2.4 hp

from

$ 299.00

Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price*

Features for 440

  • Centrifugal air cleaning system removes larger dust and debris particles before reaching the air filter. This results in reduced air filter cleanings and improved engine life.

  • X-Torq®

    X-Torq®

    Delivers lower fuel consumption and reduced exhaust emission levels in accordance with the world´s most stringent environmental regulations.

    Delivers lower fuel consumption and reduced exhaust emission levels in accordance with the world´s most stringent environmental regulations.

  • Allows for easier starting and reduces the risk of engine flooding.

  • Easier access to chain tensioning device.

  • Forged three-piece crankshaft for maximum durability for the toughest applications.

  • System designed to reduce vibration levels to the operator, which lessens fatigue.

  • The engine and starter have been designed so the machine starts quickly with minimum effort.

  • Reduces the likelihood of injury due to kickback.

Product reviews for 440

Husqvarna 440 3.9 5 38 38
awsome,,saw i have run other saws, that i thought were really good saws,,,,this saw is the best of the best, for me because i run them hard. December 3, 2013
Would recommended this to product to anyone Great saw, works well, meets my needs and easy to start. My only negative comment is that the instruction manual needs to be clearer, specialy in connections with changing the chain. December 2, 2013
This chainsaw performed very well. The ergonomics', ease of starting, and light weight of this product is exceptional. It performed very well, cutting logs easily with plenty of power and low vibration which eases the stress on the arms and back muscles. There was only a few instances where the chain came off the sprocket, but that was because the tension became loose on the chain. I would recommend this product to a friend. November 24, 2013
Good saw for the money This was my first chainsaw. I've used it over the last six months to cut about five cords of firewood. Most of that was trees blown down during storms that had been down for at least a year. They were well seasoned. Occasionally I had sparks coming off of the chain, especially when I tried to cut well-seasoned Black Locust. Filing by hand seems to do well with keeping the chain sharp. The saw produces good power for its size. I'm sure a bigger saw would do better, but it's also more expensive. I gave it a "4" on durability only because I had an issue with the starter mechanism. Somehow it fused itself together and would not retract the rope. I had to take it apart, figure out the problem, re-install the very long spring, and re-wind the rope. It works fine again, although I did order a new starter assembly to keep on hand. It occasionally can be difficult to start, as in it may take many pulls over the span of three or four minutes before it starts. Usually, though, following the instructions makes it fire right up. I have to agree with the other reviews, in that sometimes it fails to idle correctly. I've sat it down for as long as two minutes before and it just keep humming right away. I've also let off the throttle for a mere five seconds and had the saw die. Hot starts are randomly difficult. Sometimes setting the high idle results in a one pull start. Sometimes it takes a while. Overall I'm still very happy with the saw. With these chains, I've never had it kick back, either. November 21, 2013
Don't waste your time I bought this saw for some emergency storm cleanup and chose it over less expensive saws because of the formerly reputable Husqvarna name. Because this was an emergency, I did not have time (nor electricity) to read reviews. If I had, I would have never purchased this saw. Like a lot of reviewers here, I could not get the saw started by following the step-by-step instructions in the manual or quick start guide. Talking with other owners reveals the same issue and some cryptic, secret sequence for getting the saw started. Nothing worked and I was not willing to get too wild nor take the saw apart, lest I find myself unable to return it. I've wasted two full days on this saw and I still have a giant spruce that needs to be cleared. Like other reviewers, I'm baffled as to why the 800 help number is not available on weekends...when most people would need it most. I'll avoid Husqvarna products for a very long time. November 17, 2013
chainsaw easy starting, powerful, good handling, bought to clear trees from property and it handles great and cuts what i need it to. October 15, 2013
Poor running I bought this saw at Lowes while out of town as I had to do some quick tree work at a rental house I had. I am very experienced with a chainsaw, albeit not a professional user by any stretch of the imagination. Out of the box, the saw was difficult to start and when finally starting it (the starting decals devised to help are worthless), I was able to make short work of what I had to do. As long as I didn't put the saw down or held it at idle for any length of time (more than 5-10 seconds) it was fine, otherwise it would stop, forcing an unnecessary and difficult restart. I had to leave the next day and have used the saw one other time since being at home. Same complaints. I have pulled it out to do some work today and it took 30 minutes of pulling to get it to start. I thought that it may have flooded, but after letting it sit, it didn't make much difference. Once started it wouldn't stay running even after warming up. The chain would stop while trying to cut a 12" log (after making certain the chain was sharp). The saw runs very irregularly and seems like it is not firing regularly. Of course there is no way to adjust the carburetor. Overall, I am very dissatisfied with this saw. I'll need to take it in to have it looked at after only buying 6 weeks ago and having used it 3 times for a total saw time of about 45 minutes. I should have purchased a Stihl, but unfortunately Lowes was the only store open at the time I needed it. I've even owned a Poulan that has run better than this. September 8, 2013
really nice This is my first chainsaw that wasn't of the cheap and disposable type. Very pleased so far but have only used it twice so I guess time will tell. September 3, 2013
<<Previous 2 3 4 5 Next>>