Husqvarna 440

Lightweight and efficient all-round saw, ideal for those looking for a chainsaw that is exceptionally easy to start and manuever. Featuring X-Torq® engine for lower fuel consumption and reduced emission levels. Equipped with Smart Start®, fuel pump and Auto return stop switch for easier starting. Side mounted chain tensioner for earier chain tensioning.

40.9 cc, 2.4 hp

from

$ 299.00

Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price*

Features for 440

  • Centrifugal air cleaning system removes larger dust and debris particles before reaching the air filter. This results in reduced air filter cleanings and improved engine life.

  • X-Torq®

    X-Torq®

    Delivers lower fuel consumption and reduced exhaust emission levels in accordance with the world´s most stringent environmental regulations.

    Delivers lower fuel consumption and reduced exhaust emission levels in accordance with the world´s most stringent environmental regulations.

  • Allows for easier starting and reduces the risk of engine flooding.

  • Easier access to chain tensioning device.

  • Forged three-piece crankshaft for maximum durability for the toughest applications.

  • System designed to reduce vibration levels to the operator, which lessens fatigue.

  • The engine and starter have been designed so the machine starts quickly with minimum effort.

  • Reduces the likelihood of injury due to kickback.

Product reviews for 440

Husqvarna 440 3.9 5 38 38
Won't Start with a Fouled Plug Got a reconditioned (used) cs and the plug was oily. It would show a spark of sorts but would not start. Cleaned/sanded the tip and center electrode, set the gap (.020) and away it went. The first totally negative review that I wrote recently before I cleaned the plug somehow never got posted. Go figure. April 23, 2014
Poor starting Had a Homelite for 20 years that started every time. Finally died and I researched saws before settling on the Husqvarna. Bought the recommended size, and have had difficulty starting it from the first. Followed all the instructions to the letter. Got it started once and couldn't restart it. Took it to a local service center, and after a week of waiting, was told that I didn't know how to start it. They showed me how, same procedure I'd been doing, and also told me about ethanol and that I should be using high test gas, which was not mentioned in the manual. So I tried 93 octane, and it started and I cut a pile of wood. Then I turned it off and attempted to restart it while warm, and it hasn't started since. I will go back to the gas station and get fresh gas and hope that works. But I have spent so much time and effort on trying to get this thing running that I wish I could send it back and get my money back, but I know you won't take it back. Incredibly frustrating. It cuts well, when it runs, which is almost never. I will not buy another Husqvarna product and will warn others not to as well. Very dissatisfied. April 17, 2014
440 IS A GREAT CHAINSAW Starts easily and cuts quickly. The chain is exceptional - sharp and throws off big chips as it cuts. Adjusted the slow idle and now it idles without stopping and the chain doesn't turn while idling. April 3, 2014
Good little saw The only 440 left at Lowe's was opened but looked new until I got it home. As soon as I pulled it out of the box it had mud on the bottom. So I at least tried it and the pull rope was messed up and did not grab correctly. So I returned it, low and behold there were 6 new ones on the shelf. This is only 90 minutes later. Imagine that! The saw is nice, but would not idle out the box very well, turned the idle screw some and it seems fine now. You have to start it exactly as it says, starts fine like that. The saw cuts very well with low vibration. Big pus for cutting from a boat at funny angles. This saw will be a boat saw and stay in my Crawfish skiff for 6 months out of the year through all the weather we have here in Louisiana. So I wish they had a smaller case than that big box they sell at Lowe's. February 15, 2014
wont buy a Husqvarna again I got my 440 ! it was hard to start ! got it running at the end only to have the it sized or so the dealer says and he recon not enough two stroke in my fuel ! But running my still on the same fuel 50:1 mix ! I have my still 10 years now never missed a beat ! never ever been so disappointed in my life ! Will be staying with still from now on ! January 27, 2014
Did everything I asked I've used chain saws for 40+ years and have owned most major brands. None have taken the use I've given this Husq and performed consistently as well. I did have a problem never had on any other brand, mechanism for chain brake broke but Lowe's covered it under warranty and replaced it. I'm confident the replacement will be everything the original was. The way I use my chain saws (use / storage for weeks / use / storage, etc.) other chain saws have not held up with the use/storage cycles I have. It starts consistently and performs well. I've seen some complain about not idling after start-up; if a chain saw idle is set correctly it will not idle until if warms up fully and that is not within the 1st minute after cranking but after a few minutes of use. The only chain saws I ever had that idled right after cranking were idling too high after warm up. Many other brands of 18" chain saws tend to be underpowered and bog down when cutting anything near 18" but this one does it for me consistently. Great saw, I highly recommend it especially for property owners. If I were a professional wood cutter, I would probably still use this saw on anything smaller than 18" diameter. January 22, 2014
Cheap Components Purchased 10-31-14 and after the first time used I had to put it in the shop to have the chain oiler replaced due to complete failure. It would empty the entire reservoir in a matter of hours not running. Used twice after finally receiving it back and had to return it to the shop again due to the gas leaking from the air intake nipple. I just finished using it for the first time after getting it back again and so far so good. Highly frustrating to purchase a brand new chainsaw and have major problems such as that right off the start. Especially from a supposedly GREAT name brand. So pros? Light weight, easy to use once you get the low/high idle adjusted (you would think that would have been ready to go out of the box but instead mine kept dieing on me during idle), will handle a good range of tree sizes, good warranty deals (have used twice thus far unfortunately). But all-in-all, wish i had bought a Skill instead. Sorry Husqvarna; you just didn't live up to the glory that I had always heard growing up. What happened? January 19, 2014
First Chainsaw; Great choice We just purchased a new house in rural area with trees around the property; also, the house has wood stove insert for heating. We did not need the super big series saws but wanted to be able to cut up fire wood and possibly a storm tree blow over if needed. this has been a good saw so far with easy starting and {after a little run time} correct idle out of the box. I have taken down two trees now and have no bad statement about this saw. So far I have used it for all that I had planned and very happy with the use. I decided on this saw for the price and ability to put on an eighteen inch bar if need arises. January 18, 2014
<<Previous2 3 4 5 Next>>