Husqvarna 440

Lightweight and efficient all-round saw, ideal for those looking for a chainsaw that is exceptionally easy to start and manuever. Featuring X-Torq® engine for lower fuel consumption and reduced emission levels. Equipped with Smart Start®, fuel pump and Auto return stop switch for easier starting. Side mounted chain tensioner for earier chain tensioning.

40.9 cc, 2.4 hp

from

$ 299.00

Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price*

Features for 440

  • Centrifugal air cleaning system removes larger dust and debris particles before reaching the air filter. This results in reduced air filter cleanings and improved engine life.

  • X-Torq®

    X-Torq®

    Delivers lower fuel consumption and reduced exhaust emission levels in accordance with the world´s most stringent environmental regulations.

    Delivers lower fuel consumption and reduced exhaust emission levels in accordance with the world´s most stringent environmental regulations.

  • Allows for easier starting and reduces the risk of engine flooding.

  • Easier access to chain tensioning device.

  • Forged three-piece crankshaft for maximum durability for the toughest applications.

  • System designed to reduce vibration levels to the operator, which lessens fatigue.

  • The engine and starter have been designed so the machine starts quickly with minimum effort.

  • Reduces the likelihood of injury due to kickback.

Product reviews for 440

Husqvarna 440 3.9 5 43 43
Great saw for a great price This saw is substantially better than other homeowner/landowner saws around the same price. Great weight to power ratio with low vibration and good balance, so you can use it all day long and get a lot of work done. I highly recommend this saw to anyone who needs a great running chainsaw that will last for many years. May 22, 2014
Great saw Best saw I've owned so far starts easy runs great. May 17, 2014
Finally...my first Husqvarna I just bought my first Husqvarna approximately 6 weeks ago and I must admit, so far, it is everything I thought a "real" chainsaw should be. I couldn't be more happier with my purchase. It came right out of the box ready to go to work as I cut a 1/2 cord of wood before putting it down. By the end of the day, I finally realized what I had been missing all these years, no more pedestrian type saws for me. I gave it 4 stars because it is still brand new. Assuming it holds up as expected, it will easily qualify for 5 stars. May 13, 2014
Replaced chain twice I purchased the saw at the end of Oct 13. I used it to cut some small brush with no problems. About a month later, as I started another project, the chain came off. I tried to reattach when I noticed a plethora of metal burrs on the chain that prevented the chain from fitting back on to the bar. So I replaced the chain and went back to work. Five minutes into the next task, the chain came off again with the same problem. I've properly lubed the chain/bar assembly and there is ample oil in the bar/chain reservoir. Not sure what is going on. Furthermore, the cover to remove the chain/bar has a metal ring in it which split today. May 10, 2014
Workhorse Chainsaw After the storm that ripped through Mississippi on April the 28th, I decided to purchase a chainsaw to help with cleanup in a nearby town. Most of my experience is with a Stihl MS 251, but the Husqvarna 440 caught my attention. Against comparable saws the feel of the 440 was superior in both weight and balance, and the grip/trigger felt more secure in hand. Admittedly the aesthetics were pleasing, but this was secondary to the ergonomics. It took a few minutes to set up the saw, but it was very easy to do. Everything was assembled well and the design lends itself to simplicity and ease of maintenance. The engine fired on choke after the second pull, and it only took three pulls to get it going from there. Since then I have not had to pull more than four times for a crank with two being the norm. One minor thing that I had to adjust was the idle speed. It came too low from the factory but a quick adjustment had it running smooth. On scene the saw was a champ! It sailed through logs like butter. The lightweight and low vibration allowed me to run with minimal fatigue all day. I only had a few moments where I felt like the saw struggled through a large log, but honestly I was running this saw beyond it's workload and it still delivered despite being such a light saw. It sips fuel and I estimate that I could get between 5-10 minutes more work over similar sized saws that my crew were using, and even longer against larger saws. Tightening the chain was easy and only happened once in 8 hours of on/off running. This saw is a dream when you have to maneuver through messy areas and tangles. Post-work I cleaned up the blade and guts. The air filter did an awesome job keeping the intake spotless. It is superior to the Stihl saws that I have used. This saw is easy to clean and it seems like there are no areas that experience heavy buildup. I am extremely pleased with this saw. It met and exceeded the challenges that I set for it. My future purchases will hold the Husqvarna brand in a very positive light. May 4, 2014
Won't Start with a Fouled Plug Got a reconditioned (used) cs and the plug was oily. It would show a spark of sorts but would not start. Cleaned/sanded the tip and center electrode, set the gap (.020) and away it went. The first totally negative review that I wrote recently before I cleaned the plug somehow never got posted. Go figure. April 23, 2014
Poor starting Had a Homelite for 20 years that started every time. Finally died and I researched saws before settling on the Husqvarna. Bought the recommended size, and have had difficulty starting it from the first. Followed all the instructions to the letter. Got it started once and couldn't restart it. Took it to a local service center, and after a week of waiting, was told that I didn't know how to start it. They showed me how, same procedure I'd been doing, and also told me about ethanol and that I should be using high test gas, which was not mentioned in the manual. So I tried 93 octane, and it started and I cut a pile of wood. Then I turned it off and attempted to restart it while warm, and it hasn't started since. I will go back to the gas station and get fresh gas and hope that works. But I have spent so much time and effort on trying to get this thing running that I wish I could send it back and get my money back, but I know you won't take it back. Incredibly frustrating. It cuts well, when it runs, which is almost never. I will not buy another Husqvarna product and will warn others not to as well. Very dissatisfied. April 17, 2014
440 IS A GREAT CHAINSAW Starts easily and cuts quickly. The chain is exceptional - sharp and throws off big chips as it cuts. Adjusted the slow idle and now it idles without stopping and the chain doesn't turn while idling. April 3, 2014
<<Previous2 3 4 5 6 Next>>