HUSQVARNA 455 Rancher

The 455 Rancher is an ideal saw for landowners and part-time users who require a high powered, heavy-duty and responsive workmate for all cutting conditions. It combines the best characteristics of its predecessor with new, facilitating technology and ergonomics.

from

$ 419.95

Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price*

Features for 455 Rancher

  • X-Torq®

    X-Torq®

    Delivers lower fuel consumption and reduced exhaust emission levels in accordance with the world´s most stringent environmental regulations.

    Delivers lower fuel consumption and reduced exhaust emission levels in accordance with the world´s most stringent environmental regulations.

  • Facilitates cleaning and replacement of the air filter.

  • Allows for easier starting and reduces the risk of engine flooding.

  • Centrifugal air cleaning system removes larger dust and debris particles before reaching the air filter. This results in reduced air filter cleanings and improved engine life.

  • Easier access to chain tensioning device.

  • Forged three-piece crankshaft for maximum durability for the toughest applications.

  • Better grip and a 7° offset handle reduces fatigue.

  • System designed to reduce vibration levels to the operator, which lessens fatigue.

More features

Product reviews for 455 Rancher

HUSQVARNA 455 Rancher 4.7 5 680 680
Some Issues I gave the saw lower marks because of some issues with starting and the chain brake. The saw worked great in cooler weather started up every time. The weather has turned nice and is warmer. When the saw was cold started right up and ran like a champ. But, i turned it off to move some rounds. Tried to start the saw after about 15 min. No go! Cranked and cranked. Let the saw sit for about thirty min. Cranked about ten times the saw finally started. Turned the saw off after about 30 min and the saw wouldn't start again. The chain brake has stuck a couple times and any one familiar with the chain brake reset knows it isn't any fun to repair. Other than those issues the saw cuts great. But with me any problem with a new saw is to many.... April 23, 2013
All around GREAT SAW! Kudos to the engineer to this saw, I bought this saw around a year ago now and use it daily. Everything from alders to pine. I'm 16 and run a small business after school for part time jobs to bring in a little extra $$. I paid $420.00 for my saw at a local dealer and they highly recommended this to me. I don't recommend climbing tree's with this saw like I do due to the weight. Plan on doing all my business through my local Husky dealer! April 1, 2013
BEWARE, WILL NOT LAST, WON'T BE COVERED I have owned two of these Ranchers. The first lasted three seasons , of which I cut about 14 chords per year of firewood. During third season, saw lost compression, was told I had used the wrong mix, and it was out of warranty. I had been satisfied with its performance, so I made the mistake of buying a new one last year. I was overly cautious to make sure I was mixing the right mixture(even though I have cut firewood for over 40 years) and this saw lasted 5 months before it quit running. I took it into the dealer I purchased it from, at first he said it was the coil and it would be covered. A week later he called and said it was bad fuel and that it wasn't covered. he said they would not cover damage due to ethanol fuel. I told him that the manual that comes WITH the saw, from the MANUFACTURER, recommends fuel with at least 87 octane from a local station. So here is the summary, if YOU follow the INSTRUCTIONS that the MANUFACTURER gives you, your SAW is SURE TO FAIL, and THEY WILL NOT COVER IT UNDER THEIR WARRANTY. I spoke to the local rep and he refused to hear my complaint, blaming it on the gas, and hung up on me. I plan on soliciting anyone who has had this same issue to bring a class action suit against the manufacturer for fraud and misrepresentation according to their own owner's manual. April 1, 2013
trigger breaks easy This would be a pretty good saw if the trigger didn't break so easily. In the past year, it has spent more time in the shop over loose trigger springs, than it has cutting wood. And what is even worse is that they won't cover it on warranty. Say its user error, like I wanna go inside and snap the spring. Getting a stihl and not looking back March 25, 2013
IT HAS VERY GOOD POWER MY BEST SAW YET! AND I LOVE HOW IT CUTS UP LOGS AND TREES WITH A BREEZE March 23, 2013
Durable, powerful, reliable chainsaw I thought I'd provide a review about my Husqvarna 455 Rancher. Like the vast majority of other reviews posted about this model saw, this review is overwhelmingly positive! My 455 Rancher has been a faithful companion in wood cutting endeavors for more than 7 years, and we've cut 7-10 cords per year of red and white oak, cherry, maple and the occasional pine. Most of the trees are in the 20-24 inch diameter range, with a few big boys up to 36 inches. This saw is still easy to start, cold or warm. I've had to change the bar once and the spark plug once. Clean the air filter and case after each use, and that's the extent of maintenance. Has leaked bar oil when stored in case from day one, despite loosening cap after use. But the durabilty, reliabilty and power of this saw more than make up for this flaw. Will start right up after months of sitting in the case, after I refuel it (I try and run it empty prior to long term storage). The 455 Rancher will eagerly go all day, or at least as long as I can, which is about 6 hours, and then start right up the next morning. Compared to some of the other saws I've owned, which include a Stihl and Partner, it's a winner. Gets a little heavy, especially with the 24 inch bar on it, so usually run it with a 20 inch bar. Bottom line is that in over 7 years of ownership, I've never had a problem with the saw, and it has never let me down. Worth every penny I spent on it. March 5, 2013
Beware where you buy!!!! Bought one of these back in October of last year from a retailer who is not also a factory authorized repair center. Did not get a chance to use if for a couple of months, but when I did use it the first time, I got it out of the box, put the fuel oil mixture in the tank, filled the bar and chain oil reservoir with bar and chain oil and started it up. The saw ran great and I made probably 4 or 5 cuts through the trunk of a fallen tree that was probably 14 inches in diameter. The saw cut through the wood superbly. After the first 4 or 5 cuts (no more than 15 minutes of total running time) I shut the saw off to move and re-position some of the wood. When I tried to start the saw again it would not start. I tried for better than 30 minutes (probably 50 to 100 pulls on the starter cord) and it would not fire. I waited a couple of hours and tried again (another 50 to 100 pulls on the starter cord) and again nothing. I checked the spark plug just to make sure it didn't look fouled, but when that looked fine, I decided to take it in for warranty service. I checked the website to find the nearest factory authorized servicing dealer. When I took it in I found out that Husqvarna has this absolutely ridiculous policy of letting their individual authorized service dealers decide if they will or will not perform warranty work on equipment not purchased from that dealer. Bottom line is that my local servicing dealer will not do warranty work on my saw because I did not buy it from them. THIS IS SOMETHING THAT YOU NEED TO BE VERY AWARE OF IF YOU PLAN TO BUY ONE OF THESE SAWS!!! DO NOT BUY FROM A DEALER WHO IS NOT AUTHORIZED TO DO WARRANTY SERVICE ON WHAT THEY SELL!!!!! So... The service dealer that I took it to said they would check out my saw and see if they could determine what was wrong with it. Foolishly I took that to mean that they would go ahead and get it sorted out for me as a warranty repair issue. But no.... I just got a call from them and they are telling me the ignition coil is bad and needs to be replaced at a cost of something over $80.00. So after running for less than 20 minutes, the ignition coil has failed and I can't get it repaired as a warranty issue. I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER HUSQVARNA PRODUCT EVER!!!!! Their warranty policy is absolutely STUPID!!!!!!!!!! Further I will never darken the door of the service dealer in Conroe, TX again and I would strongly caution anyone else considering doing business with this dealer as well!!! Very bad experience in every respect!!! February 27, 2013
Very disappointed I purchased a 455 Rancher about 7 years ago and it lasted cutting a lot of wood for me. It finally blew the motor and I was told it was the ethanol they are adding to the gas when you buy it. Ok. So I went and got another 455 Rancher as I was so happy with the old one. This one lasted 6 months. Again when brought in for service, I was told it was due to the gas at the station again. Cylinder head walls were scored in both cases. Fuel/oil ratio is per Husqvarna specification in booklet. Really?? Warranty does not cover damage and quoted cost to repair was $300 plus.I have generators, Echo chain saws, weed trimmers, mowers and all sorts of gas run power equipment. NONE of which have ever failed me due to what happens in the Rancher. Now I look at my echo saws of which are 7 and one is 5 years old and think I will go Echo. $400 plus dollars is a lot to spend on a saw and have it go bad. I did want to post this directly to Husky service but it is impossible to do so. Hopefully I am not the only one with this issue and Husky may find a solution for this problem in the saw. Thank you. February 24, 2013
<<Previous 4 5 6 7 8 ... 85 Next>>